This page covers how to edit a user's details. Editing the user's permissions is on this page - Editing user permissions.
- Registered for SafeZone;
- Registered for OmniGuard/Command;
To edit a user's details click on Edit.
You can then edit the user's name, mobile number and you can also add in a Security Note for any users who may be a security concern to your organisation's security team.
Click on Save Changes to save your changes, otherwise click on Cancel.
Important: It is not possible to edit a user's email address as the email address is assigned the unique SafeZone user ID at the top of the screen. If you have created an account using an incorrect email address, please follow the steps below to delete the user and re-create them in the system.
The user will then receive an email in their mailbox which provides them with a temporary password to login.
The email template that SafeZone uses is the "New Account Invitation" template generated from Global Settings - Email Templates. You can customise your new account invitation email template by going to the Email Templates menu and selecting the template to customise.
Registered for SafeZone
Once the user verifies their SafeZone account through the invitation email they receive, they will then be able to use the SafeZone app on their device.
By default, the user's account is not Protected. This means that you can delete the user from the system so they will not be able to log in and you can recycle their email address to use if someone is taking over that account.
To protect an account from deletion, tick the check-box for Protected. If you try to delete the user, you will get a message informing you that "Protected users cannot be deleted"
Protecting the user from deletion may be required if you have to produce data/reporting about an individual(s) and any alerts/scenarios from SafeZone to authorities or for legal reasons.
User permissions are covered in Editing user permissions
Grant access to OmniGuard
If the user you have created also needs access to OmniGuard/Command you can click on the Grant access to OmniGuard button which will elevate their access to be able to use OmniGuard/Command.
As per the screenshot above, the action cannot be undone.
Registered for OmniGuard
Disabling a user
If you need to prevent a user from logging into SafeZone, OmniGuard and/or Command you can click on the Disable button.
The User Disabled warning message will appear at the top of the screen
To allow the user to log in to SafeZone again, click on Enable.
Deleting a user
To delete a user from the system, click on Delete. The Confirm User Deletion screen will appear:
To delete the user from the system, click on Delete User.
Important: Once the user has been deleted from the system, their account details can only be managed with a direct link to their user page. If you lose this link, you will not be able to restore the user (SafeZone staff will also not be able to restore the user). An example of the direct link is shown on the screenshot below:
The banner at the top of the user's account details will inform you that the user has been deleted.
If you have set Data Retention settings for SafeZone, the user’s account will be deleted from the system when your data retention policy applies. For instructions on how to set up the Data Retention Settings in SafeZone, please see the guide on Data Retention.
The Registration menu will allow you to restore or purge the user from the system.
Click Restore to restore the user account. This will allow the user to log back into the system using the most recent password.
Click Purge to completely delete the user from the system. You will receive a confirmation screen before the user is deleted.
Click on Purge User to completely delete the user from the system, otherwise click on Cancel to cancel the deletion of the user.